Platform 9 3/4

I am currently re-reading the Harry Potter series whilst rewatching the movies and immersing myself in Pottermore.

On the surface it is a pleasurable and inspirational experience. Just beneath the surface it is very emotional. As I am about to start the Order of the Phoenix, I am expecting the primary emotion of the coming week to be rage.

But in my heart?

The Harry Potter series, and the extra bits revealed on Pottermore, are deeply intimidating to a wannabe novelist. Harry Potter is on the pedestal of my readerly expectations. J.K. Rowling is an idol. And it scares the hell out of me thinking I will have to come up with a passable plot when I cannot fathom coming up with the fictional universe I am currently immersed in.

I don’t expect that all writers should come up with such intricate plots of course, so it would be silly to expect myself to. But it is, nevertheless, intimidating.

Through it all, however, one sweet quote from J.K. Rowling regarding Platform 9  3/4 spurs me on considerably:

“There is a real trolley stuck halfway out of a wall at King’s Cross now, and it makes me beam proudly every time I pass…”

I love this. It’s not about fame. Fame is a byproduct. It is about readers developing a real passion for the work. People are so passionate about the Harry Potter series that relics are being installed in the very city the book visits, by the government (or government contractors) no less! I just find that kind of passion in readers beautiful and stirring. However few readers I may one day gain, I aspire to stir similar passions…..even if Sydney is never quite so enamoured as to erect monuments for me.

To solidify this inspiration, I have installed a new picture above my desk:

20130904_195836[1]

One thought on “Platform 9 3/4

  1. Yes, its not about the fame or money for that matter. Its about you, your readers, and your ability to inspire 🙂 I would say, dont compare yourself with your idol or other writers, be the best you can be.

Leave a Reply

