Poetry

I know very little about poetry. I dabbled with rhyme when I was very young, and again in my teen years when angsty and sad, but I wouldn’t have a clue about poetic form. I’ve never studied it.

A while ago my cousin sold me a couple of books he used for uni, including this one:

The Making of a Poem: A Norton Anthology of Poetic Forms by Mark Strand, Eavan Boland

The Making of a Poem: A Norton Anthology of Poetic Forms by Mark Strand, Eavan Boland

And in the last few days I have started reading it.

Here I am in the car during a recent short trip to Coffs Harbour. My boyfriend loves surfing and I can barely swim. So while he surfed, I read in the car.

Don't read and drive kids!

Don’t read and drive kids!

I did manage to try stand up paddle boarding though which I loved. 

I even managed to actually stand. Quite the achievement since I spent most of it on my bum scared :P

I even managed to actually stand. Quite the achievement since I spent most of it on my bum scared 😛

So anyway, poetry. I’ve decided to make a little project of this book, trying every poetic form in it, across a certain theme which will be revealed soon. I also haven’t forgotten about my other project Everything He Knows About Writing which I will be back to very shortly.

Writings are happening!

One thought on “Poetry

  1. A friend of mine is about to close on a lake house and I totally want to try paddle boarding… I also have not really dabbled that much with poetry. I wrote some pretty impressive work in middle school– mostly about a purple cheeto or something– but I’ve stuck with prose since then.

Leave a Reply

